Prof. Rasheed Ojikutu
Dean, Faculty of  Business Administration


The Ashby Commission on “Post-School Certificate and Higher Education” appointed by the Federal Government in 1959, recommended, among other things, the establishment of a university in Lagos which would give special emphasis to “School of Commerce and Business Administration”. It was recognized that Lagos, as the then political and business capital of the Federation, would be an ideal site for an institution of higher learning geared towards producing mangers, accountants and administrators for the private as well as the public sectors of the economy.
The first phase in the development of the university, the University of Lagos, began in October 1962, with the establishment of the Faculty of Business and Social Studies, the Faculty of Law and the Medical School (then an independent unit which later became the College of Medicine of the University).  Between October 1962 and August 1970, the Faculty took shape with substantial aid, in terms of personnel and physical resources, from the United States of America Industrial Development and the New York University under the NYU –University of Lagos project, for the establishment and development of the Faculty of Business Administration.  In 1967, the Faculty of Business and Social Sciences was split into two schools, i.e, School of Administration and School of Social Studies.  With effect from October 1973, the School of Administration was renamed the Faculty of Business Administration while the School of Social Studies became the Faculty of Social Sciences.  Despite these reorganization, considerable cooperation continues to exist between the two faculties in several areas of common interest.
Currently, the Faculty of Business Administration offers courses leading to Honours Degrees of Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.) in Accounting, Actuarial Science, Business Administration, Finance, Insurance, Industrial Relations and Personnel Management. The programme of a Master’s degree in Business Administration (MBA), designed specially to meet the requirements of Nigerian Business Executives, commenced from the 1973/74 Session. This programme is currently run on a day (full time)–and-evening (part time) basis. In addition, the Faculty offers Postgraduate courses leading to the M.Sc., M. Phil. And Ph.D. degrees. Details of these could be obtained from the relevant Departments in the Faculty as well as the School of Postgraduate Studies.
The Student enrollment of the Faculty in the 2002/2003 academic year was 4395 (undergraduates) and 463 (post graduates). The figure for under graduates excludes part-time students under the Distance Learning Institute (DLI) programme offering the faculty’s two degrees – B.Sc Accounting and Business Administration.
The Faculty expresses its gratitude to the Faculty Founding Fathers and those who have served the Faculty in various ways for their invaluable contribution to the Department/Faculty’s high standard since its inception.
Faculty Building: The Faculty Building is located near the University Guest Houses, the Faculty of Law, the main University Library as well as both the old and the new Senate buildings.
Publications and Research Studies: Faculty members have been fully engaged in several research work since inception. Several publications have been published by members in many academic journals both nationally and internationally. The Faculty holds several seminars and workshops every year.



To become the Faculty of 1st choice in Africa in an environment conducive to the pursuit of excellence in providing business education, teaching, research and service, relevant to the contemporary business world.


To provide high-quality business administration education, to attract, and retain highly qualified and motivated academic staff, to advance knowledge, and to produce the workforce needed to promote economic development. All of the above will be accomplished in a technology-driven environment.